Five-Minute-Friday: Tell

It’s that time of the week again: Time to duct-tape the mouth of the inner critic and allow yourself to simply write. We write for five minutes about the week’s prompt, and often times beauty pours forth that we did not know we possessed to share. Care to join us? This week’s prompt is “Tell.”

Go.

My whole life people have pounded into my head a single statement: “Show, don’t tell.” Teachers, parents, friends, authors, they repeat over and over, “show, don’t tell.” When you write, show who the character is, don’t tell us. Show what is happening, don’t tell us. When you want to help, show your desire to help by helping instead of talking about it. Actions are louder than words.

And all those people are correct.

And all those people are wrong.

Sometimes showing isn’t enough. Sometimes doing the dishes isn’t enough, you have to actually say, “I love you. I appreciate you. I value you.” Do acts of service express this same sentiment? Absolutely. But the spoken word is powerful, and words are what stick with people throughout their lives. Helpful words, harmful words, it doesn’t matter. They still stick with you forever. 

So if your words are going to hang around with someone the rest of his/her life, don’t you want to leave them with “I love you?”

Stop.

6 thoughts on “Five-Minute-Friday: Tell

  1. Actions are nice, but hearing it is nicer. Especially when it comes to I love you’s. Followed you on FMF.

  2. I love your beautiful reminder, to not just show, but tell!! I love the way you put it! Blessings to you! Visiting from fmf before I link up, but I’m gonna write now! 🙂

  3. Beautiful post, Sara. And you’re right. What we say is important. People need to hear, “I love you.” They need to hear words of affirmation. If you’re like me and words of affirmation is your love language, it’s even more important to say it. 🙂 There’s such a balance in how we show love and care for others.

Leave a Reply

