Five Minute Friday: Hands

I’ve long held the theory that the hands are a person’s most identifiable feature. Most people would probably say it’s the eyes, but I’ve seen more similar eyes than I ever have hands.

People’s hands tell stories. Calloused, scarred, soft, long fingers, short fingers, haired, smooth, ringed, tattooed, nail polished, steady, shaky, flexible, stiff – everyone’s hands are different, and they all have different histories.

People for many years believed that a person’s future can be found in the hand, but I think it is much more fascinating to look at a hand and find their past.

 

5-minute-friday-1Today’s Five Minute Friday ended up being a bit shorter than mine normally are, but I find it incredibly difficult to express the pure wonder I hold for hands. Every Friday we silence the inner critics and simply write. Five whole minutes of not self-censoring or fearing the world’s response. We write. And we find our souls pouring forth beauty we often did not realize we possess. Join us?

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Hands

  1. Tiffany,

    So beautifully written! As a lover of history and genealogy, I have often wondered what my ancestors’ hands looked like.

    Valerie

    • Thank you! I’ve wondered the same thing! The older I get the more my hands start to look like my mothers. Did my great-great-great-great-grandmother’s hands look similar, too?

  2. Hi Tiffany,
    What a great perspective to have on hands…Glad I stopped by from FMF 🙂

Leave a Reply

