Five Minute Friday: Reflect

“On Friday’s we silence the inner critic. The loudest of all naysayers. And on Fridays we remind ourselves that The Word is for us and loves us and welcomes us.” I must confess, I broke the rules this time; this took me much longer than five minutes to write.

“Who are you?” This is one of the oldest questions in the universe, one that is asked on a daily basis.  People ask this of other people, as when meeting an unfamiliar person, but people also ask it of themselves.  Answering this question is the primary concern of youth, but I do not think this question is every fully answered.  I’m not saying that people must live their entirely lives lost with no sense of identity, but I am saying that people are constantly growing.  “Who are you?” is not a question that can be answered simply, for people are complex beings with nothing simple about them.  Who you are as a child is different from who you are as an adolescent is different from a young person is different from a middle-aged person is different from an elderly person.  And this is a good thing.  This growth of who we are prevents stagnation – and everyone knows what happens to stagnant water.

One part of social media I have always loathed is the tiny box on the profile page with the prompt: “Who are you?” Who am I? You want me to tell you in that tiny box who I am? This is impossible.  I am a woman who has hurt and been hurt by others. I have made mistakes and corrections. I am known to the King of the Universe, but unknown to the king of the land.  I am a force of nature that can be stilled by a single, well placed word. I am a reader and movie watcher and tv show watcher and video game player. I am a fan and a girl and occasionally a fangirl.  I am– I could continue this for days and still have only barley scratched the surface of explaining who I am, and you want me to sum this up in your tiny little box? Even if I could manage to find a simple explanation of a complex being, the moment I find the words, they become inaccurate, for in that moment I have increased my self-awareness and grown as a person.

The complexity of the question does not negate its importance; on the contrary, its importance is compounded by its complexity.  This question is worth grappling with for an entire lifetime, for when we begin to grasp how complex we are as individuals, we can then begin to think of others as complex beings, too.

5-minute-friday-1

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Reflect

  1. bLESSINGS…GLAD i CAME TO FIVE MINUTE FRIDAY…

  2. Well done! So grateful the Creator of the universe made us complex and unique.

Leave a Reply

