The God Who Is

Sometimes I look at people who call themselves Christians and cannot help but think, “I want nothing to do with their ‘God.'”

I am proud to say that I was raised in a Christian household and that I am a follower of Jesus Christ, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. I love God. But sometimes people’s actions make me doubt whether we serve the same God. Vicious, malicious, abusing people do horrible, hurtful things, and then turn around and talk about how great God is and how wonderful life is serving Him.  Their lifestyles make their ‘God’ seem fake.  My reaction to that is, “I want nothing to do with the God of that person.”

Then I look at other Christians and cannot help but want to know their God. People who live good lives, who go out of their way not to hurt others, who have a simple intimacy with God. These people live out their faith on a daily basis with no faking or pretense.  They know God, and it is evident in everything they do.  How can I not want to follow the God of people like this?

I recently sat down and had a long talk with God about this dichotomy.  How can people who claim to follow the same God have such different expressions of Him? Surely the God of the first group cannot be the same as the God of the second?

I went on like this for a long time, not letting God get a word in edgewise. When I finally shut up long enough, I heard His quiet voice whisper to me: “Must I be the ‘God of this’ or the ‘God of that’? The pagans have their god of wind and god of love and god of war. But me? I AM. What else do you need Me to be? What else is there? I AM. I AM God, but My children reflect me with different levels of perfection.  When you look at some, you see a clear picture of who I am, but when you look at others you still see much of the world obscuring My image. I am still cleaning My children, making them into a better reflection of Me.”

Instead of following the “God of this person” or the “God of that person,” I now simply choose to follow “I AM”: the God who is big enough to handle even my own poor reflection of Him.

Leave a Reply

