If Money Was No Object?

Yesterday I was challenged to think about the question, “What would you do if money was no object?

Watch the video:

After deliberating a good while, I talked to my friends about how I would travel the world and study under the greatest artists in the world and learn to translate the incredible images in my head onto canvas. I went to bed sad because I know this can never happen.

Today, however, I thought about it again. The point of this video was not to make people depressed because of the impossibility of their dreams. The point of this video was to impress upon people the importance of doing what you love and loving what you do. Do things because you love it, not because it is going to line your pocket.

I currently work part time at a library I’ve worked at since October, 2008, making $8.50 an hour. My pockets are so far from lined that my paychecks fall through them almost instantly. I realize that I am being under paid and (according to coworkers) undervalued at this current job, but that is not the point.  Yes, I could probably go to another library and work there full time for a lot more than I’m currently making, but that, again, is not the point.  My thoughts today about this video and the principles behind it lead me to an epiphany: I do not want to work at a different library. I like this library very much. I understand how it works, I have great camaraderie with my coworkers, I share the same belief system with both my coworkers and the university the library serves, and I genuinely enjoy what I do every day. I look forward to going to work because I love it.

I could work for another library. But I wouldn’t be as happy.

And that, my friends, is the point.

Leave a Reply

